Search
  • Kelly Eyecare

Meet the team: April



In this month’s Kelly Eyecare Insight, we meet April, our wonderful manager and dispensing optician at our Poole branch.


April started at Kelly Eyecare in 2015 as a pre-reg dispensing optician, before fully qualifying in early 2016.


Having worked across all four of our branches, April has a wealth of knowledge and experience on all of our lens and frame styles, in addition to contact lenses.


We sat down with April to learn more about her role, what she enjoys about her role and how she spends her free time.


Q. What is your role at Kelly Eyecare?

I am a registered dispensing optician, and also the practice manager of our Poole practice.


Q. What do you enjoy most about being part of the Kelly Eyecare family?

I’m constantly surrounded by people with not only a wealth of knowledge and experience, but a fantastic work ethic too. The atmosphere at work is always brilliant, and we are able to work hard, but still have fun every day.


Q. What is your favourite fact about the eye/human vision?

We actually see things upside down and our brain turns the image the right way up!


Q. What is your favourite glasses brand and why?

My favourite glasses brand is definitely Wolf Eyewear. They have managed to bridge the gap of colourful and fun, whilst still being wearable as a day to day frame. I love frames that are eye catching and a little bit different, and every single patient that has purchased a Wolf frame always comes back in telling us tales of the compliments they have had paid to them!


Q. Tell us an interesting fact about yourself

I have a pet parrot called Charlie. He loves to sing, and his 2 favourite songs are "If You're Happy and You Know It", and "Another One Bites The Dust". He also has his own social media pages and has nearly 1500 followers on Facebook!


Q. What are three things on your bucket list?

  1. Visit the penguins at Boulders Beach in Cape Town, as penguins are my favourite animal.

  2. Stay in a glass igloo and watch the northern lights.

  3. See the "Big 5" - which I did accomplish when I went on a 3-week safari to Kruger Park in Africa. Seeing a wild leopard in particular was an experience I'll never forget.

Q. What is your favourite meal and why?

I love Korean food; as a coeliac vegetarian, it can be hard to find a cuisine that works for me! If I had to pick an absolute favourite, it would be Vegetable Bibimbap.


Q. If you could be any animal, what would you be?

I've been compared to a Golden Retriever quite a few times, as I'm always happy, always excited, and I do really love walking.


Q. What are you currently watching on Netflix?

I'm currently rewatching Community for about the 5th time - it is my favourite TV show.

Quick links...

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

Contact us...

Brockenhurst             01590 623 297

Parkstone                   01202 733611

Ringwood                   01425 478 545

Winton                        01202 510102

 

© 2018 KELLY EYECARE CREATED BY TOTALLY CREATIVE